IPL 2021 is starting on April 9 and it is pretty obvious that we’re all extremely excited! The Indian Premier League has really come a long way and just like the past, the 14th edition also promises to be a star-studded affair with plenty of cricketing action. 

We’re all waiting to know which team will lift the trophy this year. What do you think? Who will be the captain who shall lead his team to victory? Well, we shall find out on May 30.

Meanwhile, here’s a low-down on the 3 most successful skippers who have led their respective teams to IPL triumph more than once in the past editions.

  1. Rohit Sharma

The mighty Mumbai Indians won the IPL title 5 times under Rohit Sharma in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. The HITMAN knows how to lead from the front with his aggressive batting and is a great captain with a calm demeanour who comes up with the smartest of strategies. Ever since he became the MI skipper, the team never looked back.   

  1. MS Dhoni

Mahendra Singh Dhoni led Chennai Super Kings to 3 IPL titles in 2010, 2011 and 2018 respectively. There’s a reason why he is called Captain Cool. He is always calm and controlled under pressure situations. He was successful on most occasions when he captained both the Indian team and CSK.

  1. Gautam Gambhir

Kolkata Knight Riders became IPL champions twice in 2012 and 2014 under the leadership of Gautam Gambhir. Gambhir was an expert as far as his batting and the marshalling of his KKR troops were concerned. In fact, he was the most expensive player of IPL 2011 and KKR’s leading run-scorer in the year 2012.

Besides, there were three other skippers under whom their teams won the IPL trophy once. Shane Warne, Adam Gilchrist and David Warner led Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad to IPL victory in 2008, 2009 and 2016 respectively.

Will IPL 2021 get a new champion or will defending champions Mumbai Indians win the trophy for the sixth time? 

Keep your eyes glued to your TV sets from April 9 to May 30. Enjoy!

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *